As a 26-year-old NYC intersectional feminist Latina, I wear many hats. One because I love hats and look great in them but also because I feel pressure from all sides to be a perfect person.  I have to be college educated, looking for a husband, already making career moves while also YOLO-ing. I’m also expected to be WOKE, to be slim, have a big ass and know how to cook mangu. I’m supposed to be single and enjoy my life but not too much, I don’t want to be called a slut. I have to be strong but not a bitch, sensitive but not a drama queen. I have to know what’s going on in this country plus my native Dominican Republic and appreciate both cultures while neither appreciates me.

It’s RIDICULOUS. 

I hate to be put in a box, to be creatively stifled, especially by those who preach acceptance, self-love, and inclusiveness. These identities are already oppressed in many ways by our hypocritical, misogynistic and racists society.  I don’t need self-righteous, elites,  “white-hat” wearing folks telling me I’m living wrong because of who I am, who am not and who I’m supposed to be.

I’m an educator and I pride myself in giving everyone the benefit of the doubt. I don’t mind teaching, exposing you to new things because I do believe everyone lives in a bubble…yes, including me, including you, you who thinks you know all and can’t hurt a fly. Because I teach, I’m willing to learn as well. I’m so grateful to my friends who take the time to teach me new lingo or put me on to a great book or movie. Trust me that paying it forward and being opening to receiving is actually much more productive than assuming everyone knows as much as you and being disappointed when they don’t.

Sharing is caring people!

This is why I will be venting here, taking an identity crisis every other week and dissecting my sentiments about it. Sure, I’m a Latina, but I can’t dance nor do I like pernil. I’m also a Feminist and I care about sex workers, trans people and I do actually, truly, care about men (they need to be educated so badly!) I’m a 26 year old and I know more about what I don’t want than what I do want out of life. I still live at home and dating, well, we’ll get to that.

So join me on my venting sessions and please feel free to contribute/comment.

 

 

 

