A few years ago, I thought about how amazing many of my friends are and what an inspiration they are in my life. Learning about the disparities in teaching and raising young women, I realized how different my own education has been. I went to an all-girls high school where we were constantly encouraged to strive for the best and there was never a question of our abilities. The competition was considered healthy, and there were endless anecdotes of “strong women” we aspired to emulate.

Though not without its shortcomings, I am thankful for a HS experience that helped me and my friends excel and always look to the stars. It’s been a handful of years since an emotional graduation, and I cannot express how proud and tingly feeling I get when I see my girls take yet another stride towards success. Even better, when they allude to journeys of self-love and discovery – sentiments that surely contribute to their achievements.

And so, for a while now I’ve been wanting to start up a series (as part of the videos section of My Effing Life called FemmeSpeak) focusing on young women who are empowered and who may hopefully empower other women that hear these stories. Also, it is of particular interest and personal significance that many of us are women of color (intersectionality FTW). I am beginning with the friends I have surrounded myself with these past several years, whom I admire and have learned so much from. If all goes well, we will hopefully expand from there.

The inaugural episode features one of my closest friends, Alyssa Ramos-Reynoso. We have known each other for over 10 years and I knew she was a force to be reckoned with from the very beginning, earning the very apt nickname Supergirl.

Check back with us soon as we continue to share the stories of more amazing, empowering women.

