OMG I LOVE YEW
OMG I LOVE YEW

One Miss Jennifer Lawrence, otherwise known as J. Law, seems to be the “it-girl” of the moment. She fiercely catapulted into fame with the release of the series blockbuster, The Hunger Games, based on the eponymous YA book by Suzanne Collins. Her character is Katniss Everdeen, poverty stricken breadwinning archer of District 12 turned resourceful, threatening, symbol-of-hope victor. A relative newcomer, Lawrence clumsily stumbled (literally) into our hearts just about a year ago, when she won the Oscar for Best Actress, beating out the likes of Jessica Chastain and Naomi Watts. Apart from the recent second Hunger Games installment, Catching Fire, Jennifer has been in hits such as Silver Linings Playbook, X-men: First Class, Winter’s Bone, and the also recent American Hustle. Among her new-found popularity and success, Lawrence seems to stay incredibly humble and down to earth. Her favorite topic of conversation is clearly food and the acceptance of her imperfections … qualities we find to be very refreshing in today’s media.

I’m not even going to front: I love you Jennifer Lawrence, let’s be best friends forever! And I’m not the only one with that kind of sentiment. Audiences everywhere have been struck by cupid’s arrow (I’m not even sorry for that undignified pun) … it’s like almost Trippin' everyone, almost everywhere is in love with our Jennifer. Browse the internet enough and you will certainly find some kind of article with a list compiling her most endearing moments and quirks. Remember when she shamelessly admitted to being hungry on the red carpet, on her way to the Academy Awards? Remember when she WON and totally tripped (somehow still looking amazing, see photo) on her way to the stage? And that time she answered the question about what she thought about body critics with a simple, eloquent “Screw those people.” I could go on and on about why Jennifer is so loveable and relatable, and how much I just want us to have a morning run with Bradley Cooper and then a Netflix binge sleepover with Dominos pizza – but that isn’t really the point of this post. My question is: just exactly WHY are we so obsessed with J.Law?

Merp.  I mean, I know WHY, but … just what makes Jennifer so special? My theory: our arsenal of awesome female celebrities that encompass our awkward, imperfect, human attributes is frustratingly scarce. Now, don’t get me wrong – there are plenty of amazing women out there (haaaave you met Awkward Black Girl, Issa Rae? Mindy Kaling is another potential BFF) who can stand their ground and are just as lovely, funny, and endearing as Jennifer … but women on the forefront of the public eye – specifically on the radar of young female viewers – are rather few. Granted, as I write this post I feel like I’m shoving my foot further and further into my mouth because I’m going through a mental list thinking “You know, she’s cool too. And her, and her.” But I guess what I’m trying to say is: Jennifer Lawrence is one of the few female celebrities out there who seem to be, just, human. I like to see women who aren’t apologetic about who they are. I’m glad I find myself thinking there are more women besides Lawrence who do that (feel free to bring them into the light in the comments section!), but the list isn’t quite as extensive as I’d like it to be. Jennifer Lawrence seems to be the “it-girl” of the moment because right now, she’s the closest we have to “bad-ass normal girl who I can relate to.” I can’t tell you how loudly I squealed when she tripped on her way to the Oscar, not because I was embarrassed for her, but because OMG, that’s probably EXACTLY what I would have done because I’m a clumsy hot mess on a daily basis.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-12452-1332359488-27I’m sure people will consider her straightforward, humorous personality – or any of the other reasons we love her – to possibly be crass and boorish … but frankly, I’m no Perfect Patty and I’m not interested in any implication that says I should be. I know we shouldn’t look to celebrities to validate us; that would be unhealthy and self-destructive. But these are the people we (again I’m mostly speaking about the impressionable young women in our society) engage with the most in the media. I hope to see more celebrities and women in the public eye take a page from the Jennifer Lawrence appeal and embrace the wonders of being yourself, not taking yourself so damn serious all the time, and fries.

