UPDATE: 

Almost four years since my first post and not much has changed yet everything has changed!

I’m still analyzing and writing about media with an intersectional point of view.  Since becoming a contributing writer, I’ve been submitting pieces on and off but more often lately.  Dedicating myself to my craft, I want to keep reviewing content and possibly extend more into writing more personal pieces.

In the meantime, I’ve been producing and hosting a web series entitled The Feminist Tea Party with the originator of this blog and contributing writer, Charli.  Together we drink tea and talk about feminist news. While being on hiatus, I’ve dabbled into podcasting. On Mixing it up with Maggi where I interview close families and friends about a variety of subjects such as parenting, careers, and sexuality.

At the end of the day, I’m still writing and trying to tell my own stories. Now, equipped with more knowledge and fugor, (I don’t know how to express this in English), I’m able to look at media more critically and of course, create more impactful stories.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Hi there, my name is Maggi. I’m a 23-year-old aspiring writer and filmmaker living in the Big Apple. Originally from the Dominican Republic, I came to the United States at a young age and was raised in the Bronx. Recently I graduated Hunter College with a BA in Media Studies. There, I learned to critique and analyze all forms of media.

One of my favorite things to do is to discuss a book, television show, or film with my friends. One of the topics that we always seem to stumble upon is: how are women being portrayed here?

I’ve been a feminist from an early age, yet it wasn’t until I took a course in college that I actually understood what it meant.  I believed feminism was about superiority – female superiority. I have learned that it’s about equality between the sexes. It’s about breaking barriers and stereotypes.

On this blog, I would like to explore how the media portrays different kinds of women, how female-on-female relationships are holding us back and how far women have come in multiple fields.

FUN FACTS:

My favorite color is pink and I’m proud of it!

I practice kickboxing

One of my favorite shows is Charmed

I consider myself a television addict!

I love Florence and the Machine

I want to publish a young adult book series

 

