IMG_1470

I’ve been a proud feminist since I realized what the term meant (probably around the time I hit puberty). I was lucky enough to be brought up by a mother who identified herself as a feminist, raised by my also feminist Grammie. From them, I learned about equal rights and gender equality, and got to build on that knowledge by taking enlightening Women and Gender Studies classes at Hunter College. Hearing such concepts as “race and gender are cultural constructions” blew my wee little freshman mind, and from then the fervor to obtain more knowledge on the intersections of race, gender and class began.

I received my Bachelors degree in January of 2013 in English, with a minor in Women and Gender Studies (of course).  I am obsessed with anything vampire related, especially Buffy the Vampire Slayer and True Blood. Other than vampires, I am in love with reading both classic and modern novels alike, traveling and hiking, and especially love exploring the Catskill Mountain region in upstate New York. My new goal in life is to become a farmer, so I’m currently trying to obtain that dream while writing fun, serious and enlightening articles about gender and society.

: )

